The Black Kids

Author: Christina Hammonds Reed

Publisher Simon & Schuster UK

Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel is a unflinching exploration of race, class, and violence as well as the importance of being true to yourself. Los Angeles, 1992Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It’s the end of high school and they’re spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer. But everything changes one afternoon in April, when four police officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley’s not just one of the girls. She’s one of the black kids. As violent protests engulf LA and the ci...

Language

English


Duration

08h55min


Published

December 10, 2020


Size

989 MB

Rental price: 13.99 € (ie 0.05 € per page read) - Included in the subscription subject to available credits

The Black Kids
Reserved for subscribers